Today | History | Profile | Notes | Email | Diaryland


04/16/2011 - 5:35 PM

Pagan Pride Day stuff



One thing I forgot to mention yesterday is that I've taken on the role of Local Coordinator for the 2011 Kansas City Pagan Pride Day. Bill was in charge for the past two years and asked at the 2010 event (in September) whether or not I'd be interested in taking over for him.

For some idiotic reason, I said yes.

I went through the application process, was approved, and officially took over in October 2010. At first, I enjoyed it. Within 30 days, I had the date set (9/10/11), all my performers and speakers lined up, workshops planned, children's area and activities designed, the park reserved and paid for, a fund-raising pancake breakfast set up, and all other miscellaneous and assorted plans set and laid out.

Cool! Look at me in all my superb efficiency!

It's now April, a full 7 months after taking over officially, and Bill has yet to take his name off of the bank account. Nor has mine been added. Thankfully, Aurora is the KCPPD treasurer, so I just left her in charge of all that. She's responsible for paying for everything that we need done...as well as making sure that Bill doesn't touch one penny of the PPD money.

Where it becomes an idiotic decision on my part is when I have to deal with the national parent organization. They are idiots and grossly inefficient! The national president is an out-and-out liar and couldn't find his ass with two hands and a map. He tried to claim that all of our necessary forms and paperwork never made it to him to be included in the group exemption for the IRS. However, Aurora had copies of all the emails from him, including his "paperwork received, approval granted" acceptance email to her in 2009. After several days of irritating emails, we mailed and emailed additional copies of everything and have kept meticulous records of doing so.

I've also received some flack about the chosen charity for our food drive. Selene started The Pagan Pantry last year and we (the coven) chose to support her food pantry this year as the official PPD recipient. Now I'm getting irritating emails from our webmaster, questioning that decision. He tried to claim that the purpose of PPD was support non-pagan charities, then he got irritated when I quoted the Local Coordinator's handbook at him (which he's never seen) and informed him that those above me in the organization had suggested it.

I HATE POLITICS!!

He's only complaining because he has personal issues with Selene. In fact, the only complaints I've received are from those who have personal issues with her. Screw them...I'm in charge. If they don't like it, they can take on the LC position for next year...

Which is exactly what I suggested to the webmaster.

After a lot of hemming and hawing, he agreed to "think" about it...and promptly stopped questioning my decisions.

Ok, enough bellyaching for today.

Ciao.





0 comments so far


Past Life Regression - Reincarnation


Return to Top


Mostly Medical - 04/27/2011
Pagan Pride Day stuff - 04/16/2011
She's baaaaaaaaack! - 04/15/2011
Happy Thursday - 03/25/2010
Don't disasters come in threes? - 03/18/2010



You are visitor number